Perspective for an often frightened world

I have finally got a routine to the blogs you’ll be pleased to know! So if you’re reading this – keep an eye out for next Sunday for the next one. I promise it’ll be there! Before I start on the main blog for this week I wanted to share a fantastic poem that I chanced upon while reading Ben Fogle’s book the “Accidental Adventurer”. Now I know he isn’t everyone’s cup of team but I really warmed to him as I read his book and his modus operandi of wearing his heart on his sleeve is something I can truly relate to. So – thanks Ben – you have fuelled my ambitions just that little bit more! Anyway – I digress. The poem I chanced upon is called “Risk” by William Arthur Ward. We live in a risk averse society – fearful of our surroundings, others and the temptations that have the potential to lead ourselves or loved ones down a darkened path in life. As the media regales in the sharing horror stories of lives ripped away, we rarely seem to get the happy, positive stories that we all need. So, when I came across this poem, I took a step back, had another sip of Green Tea (something I have yet to form a bond with but know it’s packed with some good health properties) and leaned back on the balcony over the London skyline, and smiled. This poem is right on the money boys and girls – risk is meant to be part of our lives for it opens it up into a world that is far brighter and colourful that we perhaps realise or have forgotten about. So I hope you enjoy it and do pass it on…

RISK by William Arthur Ward

To laugh is to risk appearing a fool,

To weep is to risk appearing sentimental,

To reach out to another is to risk involvement,

To expose feelings is to risk exposing your true self To place your ideas and dreams before a crowd is to risk their loss,

To love is to risk not being loved in return,

To hope is to risk despair,

To try is to risk failure.

But risks must be taken because the greatest hazard in life is to risk nothing.

The person who risks nothing, does nothing, has nothing, is nothing.

He may avoid suffering and sorrow, But he cannot learn, feel, change, grow or live.

Chained by his servitude he is a slave who has forfeited all freedom.

Only a person who risks is free.

Leave a Reply

