And so it begins

Quote of the Week:

“Never give in–never, never, never, never, in nothing great or small, large or
petty, never give in except to convictions of honour and good sense. Never yield
to force; never yield to the apparently overwhelming might of the enemy”

– Winston Churchill

My Week

I think this quote is quite fitting for the week that is coming to an end and the week that is about to begin. The front end of last week you see was uneventful – filled with some sunshine, a magazine, the occasional jog and the ubiquitous nap. Then Thursday and Friday happened. All of a sudden I found myself at the hospital (that am starting at full time from tomorrow) I will be working at taking part in a full on two day induction. First of all there was a job of meeting the 35 other new junior doctors and getting to know the people who will be your colleagues for the next 12 months. This in itself is a difficult task since everyone is guarded to reveal too much about themselves and not be ‘that guy’ that tells everyone how, actually, they are really great and you’ll be lucky to work with them!

There is then the second issue of trying to expand, kick-start and blow the dust of your atrophied brain as you have lecture after lecture of information (all by the way that is CRITICAL information that I MUST remember according to every lecturer) from health and safety, venous thromboembolism and anticoagulation to how to use the several IT systems that I require to do just about everything from ordering X-rays to discharging patients. To be honest it was all pretty overwhelming, exhausting and scary – I’ve no shame in saying that because well, it’s true. Judging from the faces around me, I would say I was in good company with my thoughts.

So ensued the weekend – that 48 hour respite before it all kicks off. As I sit here on my balcony looking over London I wonder what the forthcoming weeks will hold. There will no doubt be many lows and, I really hope, some highs! There is one thing doing something in theory such as how to perform CPR and defibrillate a patient…there is another thing doing it for real. With my first ‘on-call’ next weekend that could well be a reality. So here we are, my 48 hours are up and I am staring down the loaded barrel of a 12 day straight run of 12 hour days and 5.30am alarm calls. I am nervous and excited but must of all I want to see if I’m up to the test that so many junior doctors have gone before and passed…

Topic of The Week

This is pretty short today guys as I am flat out stressed for tomorrow and in need of some sleep. So, as a means to provide a little amusement, let me tell you about the vibrating fork. This little gadget, which I am pretty sure you can buy on Amazon, vibrates at a certain frequency when you eat too quickly. Useful why you might ask? Well, when we scoff ourselves, the body doesn’t have time to tell the brain that we are too full and to stop eating. By slowing down the rate at which we eat i.e. chew more times and more slowly, it gives the body time to get the signal to the brain that our stomach is stretched and full and that we don’t need to eat anymore. Simple, yet effective with researchers claiming it reduces the amount of calories consumed significantly per meal leading to wonderful cumulative effects over a year to help manage your weight. That or you turn it up so hard that the vibrations rock all the food of the fork….!

I’ll see you in two weeks guys as I will be working all next weekend..

Dr Nick

Leave a Reply

