Did I just experience “Eat Pray Love”?

 

I did have something else in mind for my blog this week but I had to demote it to talk about something that, at this moment in time, has truly captured my imagination, thoughts, and to be quiet honest given me a wave of positivity.

It’s Sunday morning, so I do what I always do on a Sunday morning, I get up early-ish (but after the sun has come up – unlike my working week), have some oats and throw on my running gear, heading out to the park. Now I live in Battersea and so have the luxury of having the beautiful Battersea Park that nestles next to the river Thames as my treadmill. As I say, I do this every Saturday and Sunday. But like much of life sometimes we stop looking and instead just see without interpreting.

Today I interpreted.

The world is full of duality. There is good and evil, light and dark, happiness and sadness – you name it and there is an opposite. The way in which we decide which side of duality we want our lives to fall into is a personal one. It is also, I am sure you may agree, very easy to fall onto the side of darkness, fear, sadness and pessimism. After all the media floods our lives with fear and doubt – murder, crime, untrustworthy government, tragedy all part of our daily feel of what the world is life. This influences our choice of this duality and as such we are literally guided to a more negative state of mind. I am guilty of this sometimes. Personally, my most influencing moment was the London riots – they crushed my belief in my own city for a while and I lost hope in people. I am happy to say that this did not last but on reflection it is unbelievable who easily influenced we can be.

If we were to look to health it is no different – we are all fat, depressed, slobs according to most people you speak to or which paper you look at. We are all going to die of heart disease, strokes and suffer years of dementia as advanced medicine keeps our bodies alive as our minds deteriorate. Well I actively chose not to accept this perspective. Call me naive. Call me ignorant. It doesn’t matter. What matters is the perspective and positive mind-set that I – you – everyone has the capacity to hold. This is incredibly powerful. The more people in society that adopt it, the more power it has.

Today as I went for a run with the Spring sunshine on my face and the reflection of an (almost) inviting River Thames as London slowly woke up to another day of a million separate and personal stories that will unfold. Do you know what I saw?

Drunks? Slobs? Fights? Arguments? People looking depressed? No.

I saw every shape and size person out trying to walk or run for the first time this week, the die-hard runners breaking out their MARATHON FINISHER string vests as the temperature climbs, families having enticed their young kids away from the television or social media, dogs chasing other dogs (or rather oddly around a stationary stick…), and people smiling at other complete strangers.

As I finished my run, I usually stretch for 10-15minutes and in my head (yes I know this is sad!) run through what kind of week ahead I want to have and what I want to achieve. Today I spent over an hour because what I saw in that park, in the people there was so overwhelmingly positive, good, and uplifting in an ironically passive and non-deliberate manner that I wanted to drink it in.

Positivity is one of the best medicines we have for it frames our perspective which in turn feeds our actions. This benefits every pillar of our health: social, physical, psychological and spiritual. I for one will looking to carry this into my week.

This just leaves me to say – have a truly positive and brilliant week.

Dr Nick

#DrNickBlog

3 thoughts on “Did I just experience “Eat Pray Love”?

  1. Your blog did resonate with me particularly after the last three weeks my husband and I have just been through. A sudden, shock diagnosis that my husband has a brain tumour, the decision to operate quickly, long discussions on how we feel and incredible expressions from stunned friends and family of love, prayer, positive thoughts buoyed us up. But, the point you make that our positive attitude to what life has in store for us is vital and powerful. My husband was determined to be positive, to face things, to plan what he was going to be doing the week after the op and where we’re going on holiday later in the year! A genius of a surgeon plus this positivity, a healthy, active life and other things we may not understand has meant my husband was up and about and home on the third day after major brain surgery. He watched the Grand Prix this morning as planned and we’re all stunned, including the surgeon. Who knows what lies ahead but we’re going to make the most of every day and make plans!

    • Dear FJ

      Firstly thank you so very much for your email and sharing your story. Secondly, I am sorry it took me so long to reply – I was waiting for a moment when I could sit down and properly reply – as I am on annual leave today, this seemed like the appropriate time.

      It seems to me that you and your husband, surrounded by a marvelous support team of friends, family and medical professions, have been on quite the journey. You have collectively demonstrated so much more eloquently in real life what I can only describe with words from my blog. The fact that you drew a resonance with my blog that day makes me very humbled and that it was worth writing.

      I do hope that at the time of receiving this message that your husband is doing well and that you are continuing to live every day with overwhelming positivity and are still making those future plans! I am a bit of a fan of quotes and a bit of poetry (although by no means an expert!) and I wanted to refer you to a poem by Rober Hastings called “The Station”. It essentially highlights the fact that there is no station and that we are all on a journey. An important notion.

      I will leave by sayig my favorite quote by the late Henry Ford: “Whether you think you can, or you think you can’t – you are right”.

      You all chose ‘can’. Please keep doing so.

      All the very best to your family for the future.

      Nick

      P.S. As a Grand Prix fan myself – I definitely approve of your husband getting up to watch it!

      • Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a kind and thoughtful reply.
        We have a whole, terrific, almost unbelievable NHS team just caring for little old us and we continue on our hopeful journey so much so that we have a F1 McLaren factory visit coming up, tickets to see ManU play and we’re going to the British Grand Prix!
        So, writing your blog is worthwhile and I hope you do continue. I am grateful for now knowing of The Station by Robert Hastings.
        Carpe diem! (Have you read the translation of Odes1.11 [Horace] !)

        Faye

Leave a Reply

